Haunted House

Origo is a funnyface (0,0)

Why I have been off… Globulation 2-review

Posted by Gasten on September 25, 2006

Colony under heavy attackSome days ago, Thursday or Friday I think, I got this… lust to play a strategy-game like Warcraft or Age of Empires. Since I don’t own one (I’m a cheap bastard), and since I newly moved to Ubuntu Linux and discovered the world of Free Software, I decided to find a free RTS (Since my X-server (read: the thing that communicates with my graphic-card) is “broken”, or incompatible, I had to find one in 2D, too). I found Globulation 2. A totally underrated game.

It is a small and fast-paced RTS without any micromanagement (IE, you tell the game that you want ten workers on the construction-site, rather than telling a worker to get their asses over to the site). I’ve been playing with it nonstop all weekend. There is a custom-game mode, a great tutorial, campaign-mode (thou, I haven’t found any actual campaigns), and LAN/Online gaming-mode. You can also create your own maps, and those who are good at C++ can do their own bots/AIs.

The game is pretty normal, except the nonexistent micromanagement. You gather resources, build a colony, upgrades, destroy other civilisations, builds “empires”, and stuff like that. But there is still something … I can’t express … that makes the game great.

There ain’t many types of units: Workers, warriors, and explorers. Those can be upgraded to walk faster, hit harder, work more effectively, and even swim by construct buildings like School, Pool, Racetrack, Barracks and so on. Ah, a note about the units: They are all globules. They look a bit like clay. they are built by five “clay-balls”, connected with four clay… sticks. One ball is the “body”, two are the arms and two are the feets. when they are walking, they are constantly changing which pair are which…. Nah, I can’t explain. See for yourself: www.globulation2.org.

I will definitely play for a time now. At least till I beat the Nico-….something-AI on One On One. If I get my firewall to let the game through, we could play sometimes. This game got 4 out of 5. Right now, it is a little little bit too alpha. It’ll get better with time.

2 Responses to “Why I have been off… Globulation 2-review”

  1. I just took the leap last week to single-booting [url=http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gentoo_Linux]Gentoo Linux[/url] after many years of dual-booting Windows and Slackware. So far I’m enjoying myself, but that’s because I like tinkering with the computer. I haven’t got my grapchics card working in X either, so now I’m using old VESA drivers with a maximum resolution of 1024×768. Why can’t things just be easy?

    In what way is X and the graphic card incompatible? What card do you have?

  2. Gasten said

    I got a nVidia Corporation NV5M64 (RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro) (Yeah, I did just copy it :). I’ve asked around in IRC-channels, forums, tutorials, FAQ’s etc etc, and they all say “Configure X.”. I’ve done that, and it doesn’t work. “Get a new graphic-card”.

    Well, it ain’t too much of a problem: I can do everything just fine (and maybe slow), but not running something that uses OpenGL. Then it’ll just fuck up and die.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

